NSF Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program and Other Young Investigator Awards

NSF Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program
The Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program is a Foundation-wide activity that offers the National Science Foundation's most prestigious awards for new faculty members. The CAREER program recognizes and supports the early career-development activities of those teacher-scholars who are most likely to become the academic leaders of the 21st century.

Jefferson Science Fellows Program
The Jefferson Science Fellows program was developed by the former Science and Technology Adviser to the Secretary Dr. George Atkinson to augment recent efforts to strengthen science and technology capacity and literacy in the Department of State. The program is supported by grants from the MacArthur Foundation and the Carnegie Corporation on a three-year pilot basis. Jefferson Science Fellows also receive financial support from participating American universities and has been endorsed by a broad range of professional societies and organizations.

NSF National Young Investigator (NYI) Award
The NYI Awards are intended to encourage the development of future academic leaders in science and engineering both in teaching and research. Young investigators are expected to have standard faculty teaching responsibilities. Research cooperation with industry is encouraged.

Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award
Given annually by Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU) in Oak Ridge, Tenn., the award recognizes junior faculty at institutions that belong to the scientific university consortium for their outstanding work in engineering and applied science; life sciences; mathematics and computer science; physical sciences; or policy, management or education.

NSF Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program
Year Recipient
2015 Amy Marcarelli, Biological Sciences
Caryn Heldt, Chemical Engineering
2014 Zhuo Feng, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Shiyan Hu, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Mo Rastgaar, Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics
Tolou Shokuhfar, Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics
Chaoli Wang*, Computer Science
2013 Edward Cokely, Cognitive and Learning Sciences


Aleksey Smirnov, Geological and Mining Engineering and Sciences


Veronica Griffis, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Shari Stockero, Cognitive and Learning Sciences
Greg Waite, Geological and Mining Engineering and Sciences


Fernando Ponta, Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics


Roshan D'Souza*, Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics


Jeffrey Allen, Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics


Chunxiao Chigan, Electrical and Computer Science
Adrienne Minerick, Chemical Engineering
Ranjit Pati, Physics
Zhenlin Wang, Computer Science


Yoke Khin Yap, Physics


Brad King, Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics
Soner Onder, Computer Science
Howard Wang, Materials Science and Engineering


Chandrashekhar Joshi, School of Forest Resources and Environmental Science
Zhi (Gerry) Tian, Electrical and Computer Engineering


Jennifer Becker, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Brian Davis, Electrical and Computer Engineering
William Endres, Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics


Eric Seagren, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Adrian Sandu*, Computer Science


Jean Mayo, Computer Science
Raymond Shaw, Physics


Michele Miller, Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics


Noel Schulz*, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Doug Swenson, Metallurgical and Materials Engineering


Robert Nemiroff, Physics


Mohan Krishnamurthy*, Metallurgical and Materials Engineering


Kirk Schulz*, Chemical Engineering
Tim Schulz
, Electrical Engineering
John Sutherland*, Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics
Jefferson Science Fellows Program
Year Recipient


Sarah Green, Chemistry


Wayne Pennington, Geological and Mining Engineering and Sciences

NSF National Young Investigator Award
Year Recipient


Walter Milligan, Metallurgical and Materials Engineering
Panayiotis Charalambides*, Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics

Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award
Year Recipient


Durdu Guney, Electrical and Computer Engineering


Audrey Mayer, School of Forest Resources and Environmental Science


Shiliang Wu, Geological & Mining Engineering and Sciences

* no longer associated with Michigan Technological University