Glenn Mroz Read Full Bio


Glenn Mroz


  • PhD, Forestry, North Carolina State University
  • BS, MS, Forestry, Michigan Technological University


Dr. Glenn D. Mroz became the ninth president of Michigan Technological University in 2004 after serving as Dean of the School of Forest Resources and Environmental Science for four years. He served as a faculty member in the School since 1980. Dr. Mroz earned his BS and MS degrees in Forestry from Michigan Technological University and earned his PhD in forestry from North Carolina State University in 1983.

Mroz is a member of the Citizens Research Council of Michigan, Chair of the Michigan Universities Presidents Council, and Chair of the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Council of Presidents. At the national level, he is one of thirty members of the Association of Governing Boards Council of Presidents, a member of the Science Coalition, and a former member of the American Council on Education Commission on Lifelong Learning. He is also a member of the Society of American Foresters, Xi Sigma Pi, Forestry Honor Society, and Soils Science Society of America.

Max Seel Read Full Bio


Max Seel

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

  • PhD, Theoretical Chemistry/Computational Solid State Physics, University of Erlangen-Nuernberg
  • MS, Physics, Technical University of Munich


Max Seel serves as Michigan Tech’s provost and vice president for academic affairs. As chief academic officer he has responsibility for all of Michigan Tech’s academic programs and faculty, develops and implements the University’s strategic hiring initiatives, and oversees general education, outcome assessment, annual curriculum review, and more.

Seel joined the Michigan Tech faculty as an associate professor of physics in 1986, coming from the University of Erlangen-Nurnberg in Germany. He became head of the Department of Computer Science in 1988 and was promoted to full professor of physics in 1989. In January of 1990 he was named interim dean, and from 1991 to 2008 he was the dean of Tech’s College of Sciences and Arts. Seel was appointed to provost and vice president of academic affairs February, 2010.

Seel is a member of the American Physical Society, Sigma Pi Sigma, and Sigma Xi. He is referee for numerous journals in physics and computational chemistry. He is the author of eighty publications and has been . . .

Les Cook Read Full Bio


Les Cook

Vice President for Student Affairs and Advancement

Adjunct Associate Professor, Cognitive and Learning Sciences

  • EdD, Educational Leadership, Brigham Young University
  • MS, BS, Political Science, Utah State University


Les P. Cook serves as the vice president for student affairs and advancement at Michigan Technological University, overseeing the areas of: advancement, alumni relations, dean of students, enrollment, and marketing and communications.

Cook joined Michigan Tech in July 2003, serving as vice provost and dean of students before assuming the role of vice president. Before coming to the University, he was the associate vice president for student life at the University of the Pacific in Stockton, California.

Cook is actively involved with a number of professional and student service associations, including former vice president for the National Association of Student Personnel Administrators Region IV East. He also serves as a lead faculty member for the LeaderShape Institute and is a lifetime member of the National Orientation Directors Association, the American College Personnel Association College Student Educators International, and the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities . . .

Ellen Horsch Read Full Bio


Ellen S. Horsch

Vice President for Administration

  • MA, Economics, Central Michigan University
  • BS, Business Administration, Michigan Technological University


Ellen S. Horsch was appointed vice president for administration at Michigan Technological University in 2004. She oversees the A. E. Seaman Mineral Museum, Auxiliary Services, Business Operations, Facilities Management, and Human Resources.

From 1991 until 2004, she was director of the university's human resources department, directing the functions of payroll, employment, faculty personnel, labor relations, compensation, classification, and benefits. From 1989-1991, she was manager of employee relations operations.

David D. Reed Read Full Bio


David Reed

Vice President for Research

  • PhD, MS, Forest Biometrics, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • MS, Statistics, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • BS, Forest Science, University of Arkansas-Monticello


David D. Reed serves as Michigan Technological University’s vice president for research, overseeing sponsored programs, technology and economic development, and integrity and compliance for research conducted at both the undergraduate and graduate levels.

Reed is a professor in Michigan Tech’s School of Forest Resources and Environmental Science and has been a principal investigator or co-investigator on more than $9 million in externally funded research since coming to the University in 1982. His work has involved researchers from a variety of disciplines at the University as well as from outside institutions, and his many sponsors range from the National Science Foundation to Mead Paper.

Reed has received a number of recognitions for his teaching and research, including the Scientific Achievement Award from the International Union of Forest Research Organizations . . . 

Julie Seppala staff photo Read Full Bio


Julie Seppala

Treasurer of the Board of Control


Julie Seppala was appointed the Treasurer of the Board of Control in July 2014 and as the Executive Director of Financial Services & Operations in June 2013. She oversees all financial functions of the University and the Michigan Tech Fund. 

From 2008 until 2013, she was the director of the university’s sponsored programs office, directing the federal and state proposal submissions, award negotiations, and financial compliance and reporting. From 1994 to 2008, she was the manager of the university’s sponsored programs accounting office, directing the external and internal financial compliance and reporting requirements of sponsored programs. 

She came to Michigan Tech in 1990 as an Assistant Research Accountant. Prior to coming to Michigan Tech, she spent 2 years as an Accountant at Northern Michigan University. She was responsible for their grant and contract accounting and . . .

Dale Tahtinen Read Full Bio


Dale Tahtinen

Vice President for Governmental Relations

  • PhD, International Politics with Specialty in Middle Eastern Affairs, University of Maryland
  • MA, Government and Politics, University of Maryland
  • BS, Political Science, Northern Michigan University


Dale R. Tahtinen serves as Michigan Technological University’s vice president for governmental relations, overseeing internal audit functions, risk management, occupational safety and health, institutional analysis, legal matters, and governmental relations. He also serves as secretary for the University’s Board of Control.

Previously, Tahtinen was president of The Tahtinen Group, an international government relations and marketing consulting firm providing clients with marketing expertise, access to increased international market share, and strategic planning.

Tahtinen has had an active career in the federal government. In 1979, he was appointed President Reagan's foreign and defense issues advisor. While a Reagan appointee, Tahtinen was deputy assistant secretary of state for international trade controls and chief negotiator for all technology transfer as it impacted national security. He also . . .