University Standing Committees

Scholarship & Research Dynamics

Committee Charge: 

Focus on improving the ability of new faculty (years 1-6) to conduct research, particularly in terms of improving proposal development and success but also in terms of the effective and timely spending of research support dollars awarded at the time of hire.

Task Force Activities:

  • TBD





Reports To:

Vice President for Administration

Committee Members:

  • Dave Reed, Vice President for Research (lead)
  • Susan Amato-Henderson, Department Chair, Cognitive and Learning Sciences
  • Gina LeMay, Director of Sponsored Operations and Information Systems (cell lead)
  • Renee Ozanich, Manager, Academic Employment
  • Wayne Pennington, Dean, Michigan Tech's College of Engineering
  • Nancy Barr, Director, Engineering Communications Program
  • Veronica Webster, Associate Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Sarah Green, Department of Chemistry
  • Peter Larsen, Director, Research Development (individual cell lead)
  • Guy Meadows, Director, Great Lakes Research Center
  • Pushpalatha Murthy, Associate Provost and Dean of the Graduate School
  • Yoke Khin Yap, Professor, Physics
  • Deborah DeManno, Alumnus, Michigan Technological University (external)
  • Tess Ahlborn, Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering
  • Laura Brown, Associate Professor of Computer Science (cell lead support)
  • Julie Seppala, Vice President for Finance (cell lead)
  • Brian Barkdoll, Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Ossama Abdelkhalik, Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering–Engineering Mechanics
  • Anita Quinn, Special Assistant to the Vice President for Administration (flywheel)