The University Senate of Michigan Technological University

Minutes of Meeting 623

April 24, 2019

Senate minutes are time-indexed [in square brackets] to the relevant segments of the streaming video of the meeting.

Synopsis:

Setting of Meeting Dates **PASSED**

Election of Senate Officers for 2019-2020: Mullins elected as President, Patchin elected as Vice President, Barkdoll elected as Secretary

1. Call to Order

President Michael Mullins called the University Senate Meeting 623 to order at 5:30 PM on Wednesday April 24, 2019.

2. Roll Call of Senators and Recognition of Visitors [0:11-3:48]

The Senate Vice President Cayce Will called roll. Absent were senators Middlebrook, Amador, Cooke, Tewari, O'Kane, Gaede, Larkin, Guter, and Brassard, or Liaisons Webster, Ahangar, or Bishop, with no representatives from Electrical & Computer Engineering, Academic Services B and C, Administration, and Liaisons from Graduate Faculty Council, Graduate Student Government, and Staff Council. Visitors were: Jean Kampe (Provost's Office), Bonnie Gorman (Dean of Students), Pushpa Murthy (Graduate School), Robon Edwards (USG), Chad Arney (Provost's Office), and Josh Olson (IT), David Hale (IT), Theresa Coleman-Kaiser (Administration), Beth Lunde-Stockero (Institutional Equity), and Brian Cadwell (Public Safety).

3. Approval of Agenda [3:48-4:19]

The agenda was **passed** unanimously without abstention on a voice vote

4. Setting of Meeting Dates [4:19-5:13]

Proposed meeting dates were **passed** unanimously on a voice vote with no abstentions.

5. Elections of Senate Officers for 2019-2020 [5:13-19:55]

Michael Mullins was elected unanimously on a voice vote with no abstentions.

Cayce Will and Stephen Patchin ran for election with Patchin being elected 19 to 11 by iClicker Vote.

Brian Barkdoll was elected unanimously on a voice vote with no abstentions.

6. Adjournment

President Mullins adjourned the meeting at pm.5:51PM

Respectfully submitted by Brian Barkdoll Secretary of the University Senate