Presidential Search

Search Committee

The Michigan Technological University Board of Trustees unanimously appointed a Presidential Search Committee who will recommend two to four semifinalist candidates to the full Board of Trustees. The Board of Trustees will then interview the semifinalist candidates and make the final selection of a president of Michigan Tech to succeed President Glenn Mroz when he returns to Michigan Tech faculty at the end of June 2018.

The 14 search committee members are:


  • David Shonnard, professor of chemical engineering
  • Brian Barkdoll, professor of civil and environmental engineering
  • Ashutosh Tiwari, associate professor of chemistry


  • Jim Baker '93 '95 '05, executive director of innovation and industry engagement
  • Darnishia Slade '98, director of international career education

Academic Administrator

  • Lorelle Meadows, dean, Pavlis Honors College

Undergraduate Student

  • Braeton Ardell '19, mechanical engineering-engineering mechanics

Graduate Student

  • Lavanya Rajesh Kumar '20, PhD candidate in cognitive science and human factors

Alumni/Community Member

  • David Rowe '84, manager, Systems Control; Michigan Tech Fund Board member

Board Chair Appointee

  • Carl Anderson '72, professor emeritus, mechanical engineering-engineering mechanics

Board of Trustees

  • Bill Johnson, search committee chair
  • Julie Fream '83
  • Brenda Ryan '76, search committee vice chair
  • Bob Jacquart

Non-Voting Ex-Officio

  • Ellen Horsch '78, vice president for administration