Faculty and Staff Directory

Juergen Bierbrauer

Professor, Mathematical Sciences

906-487-3362
jbierbra@mtu.edu
Fisher 226B

Areas of Expertise

  • Coding theory
  • Design theory
  • Cryptography

Seokwoo (Jake) Choi

Visiting Assistant Professor

906-487-0386
seokwooc@mtu.edu
Fisher 213
Tori Connors

Tori Connors

Office Assistant

906-487-2068
tconnors@mtu.edu
Fisher 319
Stefaan De Winter
"Mathematics is like cooking, it requires confident guesswork and improvisation, experimentation and substitution, dealing with failure and uncertainty in a creative way."
—Paraphrased from "Sir Vidia's Shadow" by Paul Theroux

Stefaan De Winter

Associate Professor, Mathematical Sciences

906-487-2105
sgdewint@mtu.edu
Fisher 233C

Other Areas of Interest

  • Actuarial mathematics (passed exam P and exam FM + accreditation for economics)

Areas of Expertise

  • Projective geometry
  • Algebraic and geometric combinatorics
  • Groups acting on geometries and graphs

Jianping Dong

Professor, Mathematical Sciences

906-487-2928
jdong@mtu.edu
Fisher 308

Areas of Expertise

  • Statistical Genetics
  • Statistics, especially smoothing techniques, analysis of contingency tables, and density estimation

Kathleen A. Feigl

Professor, Mathematical Sciences

Areas of Expertise

  • Finite element methods for fluids
  • Modeling and simulation of viscoelastic fluids

Mark S. Gockenbach

Department Chair, Mathematical Sciences

Professor, Mathematical Sciences

906-487-2068
msgocken@mtu.edu
Fisher 302

Areas of Expertise

  • Inverse problems in partial differential equations
  • Numerical optimization
  • Mathematical software
Jason D. Gregersen

Jason Gregersen

Lecturer, Mathematical Sciences

Director of Math Lab

906-487-3408
jdgreger@mtu.edu
Fisher 317

Ann M. Humes

Senior Lecturer, Mathematical Sciences

906-487-2938
amhumes@mtu.edu
Fisher 205B

Areas of Expertise

  • First-Year College Mathematics
  • Mathematics Education

Renfang Jiang

Professor, Mathematical Sciences

906-487-2694
rjiang@mtu.edu
Fisher 314

Areas of Expertise

  • Statistical genetics, especially wavelet-based methods
  • Combinatorial group theory
  • Low dimensional topology

William Keith

Assistant Professor, Mathematical Sciences

906-487-2884
wjkeith@mtu.edu
Fisher 316

Areas of Expertise

  • Combinatorics, partition theory, q-series, generating function identities
Philip N. Kendall
"How can we tell the difference between what we would like to be true and what is actually true? The answer is science."

Philip N. Kendall

Senior Lecturer, Mathematical Sciences

906-487-2095
kendall@mtu.edu
Fisher 206

Areas of Expertise

  • Probability and Statistics

Melissa S. Keranen

Associate Professor, Mathematical Sciences

906-487-2908
msjukuri@mtu.edu
Fisher 233B

Areas of Expertise

  • Combinatorial designs
  • Graph decompositions
  • Graph colorings

Donald L. Kreher

Professor, Mathematical Sciences

906-487-3542
kreher@mtu.edu
Fisher 233A

Links of Interest

Areas of Expertise

  • Design theory
  • Combinatorial algorithms

Alexander E. Labovsky

Assistant Professor, Mathematical Sciences

906-487-3543
aelabovs@mtu.edu
Fisher 303

Links of Interest

Areas of Expertise

  • Turbulence Modeling, Computational Fluid dynamics
  • High-accuracy numerical methods for PDEs
  • Uncertainty Quantification, high-dimensional integration
Fisher Hall
"You have chosen wisely"

Dennis T. Lewandowski

Senior Lecturer, Mathematical Sciences

Director, Math Learning Center

906-487-2793
dtlewand@mtu.edu
Fisher 207
Jeanne Meyers

Jeanne Meyers

Budget Coordinator/Office Manager

906-487-1490
jemeyers@mtu.edu
Fisher 302

David A. Olson

Senior Lecturer, Mathematical Sciences

Director of Undergraduate Studies, Mathematical Sciences

906-487-2101
daolson@mtu.edu
Fisher 220

Areas of Expertise

  • Applied Mathematics
  • Fluid Flow
  • Evolutionary Ecology
  • Finance
  • PDEs

Tamara Olson

Associate Professor, Mathematical Sciences

906-487-2191
trolson@mtu.edu
Fisher 208

Links of Interest

Areas of Expertise

  • Composites Modeling
Margaret Perander

Margaret L. Perander

Administrative Aide

906-487-1495
mlperand@mtu.edu
Fisher 311

Cécile Piret

Assistant Professor, Mathematical Sciences

cmpiret@mtu.edu
Fisher 318

Elizabeth J. Reed

Senior Lecturer, Mathematical Sciences

Assistant to the Chair, Mathematical Sciences

906-487-2287
ejreed@mtu.edu
Fisher 205A

Areas of Expertise

  • Statistics
  • Forest Biometrics

Yeonwoo Rho

Assistant Professor, Mathematical Sciences

906-487-2220
yrho@mtu.edu
Fisher 215

Rebecca J. Schmitz

Assistant Professor, Mathematical Sciences

906-487-1031
rjschmit@mtu.edu
Fisher 217

Areas of Expertise

  • Math education

Qiuying Sha

Associate Professor, Mathematical Sciences

906-487-2146
qsha@mtu.edu
Fisher 307

Areas of Expertise

  • Statistical Genetics
  • Applied Statistics

Martyn Smith

Adjunct Professor

906-487-2695
martyn@mtu.edu
Fisher 320

Shari L. Stockero

Associate Professor, Mathematical Sciences

Director of Teacher Education, Cognitive and Learning Sciences

906-487-1126
stockero@mtu.edu
103 Meese Center

Areas of Expertise

  • Preservice Mathematics Teacher Education
  • Teacher Professional Development
  • Teacher Noticing
  • Teacher Learning
  • Use of Video Cases in Teacher Education
Allan A. Struthers
"Far and away the best prize that life has to offer is the chance to work hard at work worth doing."
—Theodore Roosevelt

Allan A. Struthers

Professor, Mathematical Sciences

906-487-3541
struther@mtu.edu
Fisher 212

Links of Interest

Areas of Expertise

  • Algorithms that can be parallelized on GPUs
  • Applications of differential equations to science and engineering

Jie Sun

Visiting Assistant Professor, Mathematical Sciences

906-487-2211
sjie@mtu.edu
216 Fisher

Links of Interest

Areas of Expertise

  • Lie Theory
  • Algebraic Geometry
  • Representation Theory

Jiguang Sun

Associate Professor, Mathematical Sciences

906-487-3172
jiguangs@mtu.edu
Fisher 313

List of Interests

Area of Expertise

  • Numerical Methods for PDEs
  • Inverse Problems
  • Scientific Computing
  • EM methods in Geophysics

Franz X. Tanner

Professor, Mathematical Sciences

906-487-2190
tanner@mtu.edu
Fisher 209

Links of Interest

Areas of Expertise

  • Computational fluid dynamics, especially the modeling of sprays and multiphase flows

Vladimir D. Tonchev

Professor, Mathematical Sciences

906-487-3360
tonchev@mtu.edu
Fisher 309

Links of Interest

Areas of Expertise

  • Discrete Mathematics

Min Wang

Assistant Professor, Mathematical Sciences

906-487-2905
minwang@mtu.edu
Fisher 315

Links of Interest

Areas of Expertise

  • Bayesian Statistics
  • Statistical Computing
  • Bayesian Modeling
  • Statistical Consulting
Fisher Hall

Zeying Wang

Lecturer, Mathematical Sciences

906-487-2443
zeying@mtu.edu
Fisher 305

Area of Expertise

  • Combinatorial Design Theory
  • Algebraic Coding Theory
  • Partial difference sets and strongly regular Cayley graphs
Fisher Hall

Teresa Woods

Instructor, Mathematical Sciences

487-2918
tmthomps@mtu.edu
Fisher 310

Zhengfu Xu

Associate Professor, Mathematical Sciences

906-487-3332
zhengfux@mtu.edu
Fisher 306

Areas of Expertise

  • Numerical PDE, Scientific computing
  • Computational modeling of Nafion material
  • Mathematical image processing, inverse problems, nonlinear optics

Yang Yang

Assistant Professor, Mathematical Sciences

906-487-3039
yyang7@mtu.edu
Fisher 312

Links of Interest

Areas of Expertise

  • Numerical methods for time-dependent equations
  • Superconvergence of discontinuous Galerkin methods
  • Numerical cosmology
Fabrizio Zanello
"Talent hits a target no one else can hit. Genius hits a target no one else can see."
—Arthur Schopenhauer

Fabrizio Zanello

Associate Professor, Mathematical Sciences

906-487-2068
zanello@mtu.edu
Fisher 226C

Areas of Expertise

  • Algebraic and Enumerative Combinatorics
  • Combinatorial Commutative Algebra
  • Partition Theory
Fisher Hall

Debra A. Zei

Instructor, Mathematical Sciences

906-487-2918
dazei@mtu.edu
Fisher 310

Ruming Zhang

Postdoctoral Research Fellow (Jiguang Sun)

906-487-2175
rumingz@mtu.edu
Fisher 320B

Shuanglin Zhang

Professor, Mathematical Sciences

Endowed Henes Professorship

906-487-2146
shuzhang@mtu.edu
Fisher 307

Links of Interest

Areas of Expertise

  • Statistical genetics
  • Bioinformatics
  • Theoretical Statistics