Staff Listing

Hannah Abbotts

Hannah Abbotts

Community Liaison Specialist

906-487-1176
hwabbott@mtu.edu
Noblet Building 131
Trish Burton

Trish Burton

Secretary 4

906-487-3564
trish@mtu.edu
Noblet Building G015
Patricia Butler

Patricia Butler

Research Scientist I

Areas of Expertise

  • ecosystem response to climate change
  • climate change adaptation and management strategies
  • outreach and technical transfer of climate change tools and resources
Madhumita Dash

Madhumita Dash

Postdoctoral Research Associate

mdash@mtu.edu
Noblet Building 177
Jennifer Eikenberry

Jennifer Eikenberry

Assistant Research Scientist

906-487-1774
jreikenb@mtu.edu
Noblet Building 165

Areas of Expertise

  • Stable isotopes
  • Forest ecology
  • Mass spectrometry
Joe Eskola

Joe Eskola

Research Associate

906-487-2673
joeskola@mtu.edu
Noblet Building 111

Areas of Expertise

  • Wood protection
Jill Fisher

Jill Fisher

Research Associate

906-487-3564
jhfisher@mtu.edu
Noblet Building G015

Links of Interest

Areas of Expertise

  • Ecosystem Science Center
  • National Institute for Climate Change Research - NICCR
John Forsman

John Forsman

Assistant Research Scientist

906-487-2917
jwforsma@mtu.edu
Noblet Building 183

Areas of Expertise

  • Wood composites
Tatyana Georgieva

Tatyana Georgieva

Research Scientist

Laura Haischer

Laura Haischer

Custodian

906-487-3054
lahaisch@mtu.edu
Noblet Building 153
Daniel Haskell

Daniel Haskell

Research Scientist

715-360-8942
dehaskel@mtu.edu
Noblet Building G026
Christopher Hohnholt
"Observe, Orient, Decide, Act. Repeat."
—John Boyd

Christopher Hohnholt

Director of Development and Outreach—School of Forest Resources and Environmental Science

Areas of Expertise

  • Student recruitment
  • Donor contact
  • Alumni visits
John Hribljan

John Hribljan

Post Doc Research Associate

jahriblj@mtu.edu
Noblet Building
Wendy Jones

Wendy Jones

Research Associate

906-487-3466
wsjones@mtu.edu
Noblet Building 178

Areas of Expertise

  • Forest genetics
Rama Joshi

Rama Joshi

Research Associate

906-487-1229
rcjoshi@mtu.edu
Noblet Building G027

Mary Jurgensen

Advisor, Undergraduate Students: Scheduling, Degree Completion, and Transfer Students

906-487-2953
thefinn@mtu.edu
Noblet Building 110

Areas of Expertise

  • Student advising
  • Transfer students
  • Course scheduling
Erik Keranen

Erik Keranen

Assistant Research Scientist

906-487-2960
edkerane@mtu.edu
Noblet Building 111

Areas of Expertise

  • Wood protection

Jessie Knowlton

Research Scientist

jlknowlt@mtu.edu
Noblet Building 164

Areas of Expertise

  • Avian Ecology
  • Conservation Biology
  • Tropical Biology
Jamie Lamit Staff Photo

Jamie Lamit

Post Doc Research Fellow

906-482-6303 ext. 22
ljulamit@mtu.edu
Forest Service Building
Glenn Larkin

Glenn Larkin

Senior Research Scientist I

906-487-3316
gmlarkin@mtu.edu
Noblet Building 117

Areas of Expertise

  • Wood protection and composites
  • Forest natural products
Marjorie Lindley Staff Photo

Marjorie Lindley

Administrative Aide

906-487-3437
mlindley@mtu.edu
Noblet Building 129
Andrea Longhini

Andrea Longhini

Administrative Assoc.

906-487-3603
aelonghi@mtu.edu
Noblet Building 123

Kailey Marcinkowski

Research Scientist

906-482-6303 ext. 16
kfmarcin@mtu.edu
Forest Service Building

Specialties

  • High-elevation forest ecosystems
  • Dendrochronology
  • Climate change impacts and adaptation
  • Science outreach and communication
Joni Moore

Joni Moore

Research Associate

906-370-5113
jomoore@mtu.edu
Noblet Building 136
Kari Price

Kari Price

Manager, Ford Center

906-524-6181
kalprice@mtu.edu
Ford Center
Duane Puuri

Duane Puuri

Building Mechanic

906-487-3054
depuuri@mtu.edu
Noblet Building 153
Karena Schmidt

Karena Schmidt

Laboratory Supervisor

906-482-6303
kmschmid@mtu.edu
Forest Service Building 112
Kristin Schmitt

Kristin Schmitt

Research Scientist I

Areas of Expertise

  • Ecosystem response to climate change
  • Web-based outreach on climate change adaptation and mitigation
  • Science synthesis and communication
danielle shannon staff photo

Danielle Shannon

Climate Change Specialist

Research Scientist II

906-482-6303 ext 25
dshannon@mtu.edu
Forest Service Building 133
Joseph Shannon

Joseph Shannon

Research Scientist

906-487-2759
jpshanno@mtu.edu
Noblet Building G025
Dave Stimac

Dave Stimac

Foreman, FFC

906-524-6181
dstimac@mtu.edu
Ford Center
Mary Tassava

Mary Tassava

Staff Assistant

906-487-2959
mltassav@mtu.edu
Noblet Building 155B
Ramesh Thakur

Ramesh Thakur

Research Scientist II

906-487-2703
rcthakur@mtu.edu
Noblet Building 182

Specialties

  • Forest tree improvement and genetic resources
  • Plant biotechnology and tissue culturing
  • Air pollution and climate change
Ken Vrana

Ken Vrana

Director, Isle Royale Institute

906-487-4335
kjvrana@mtu.edu
Noblet Building 132
Larry Walker

Larry Walker

Research Assistant

Joseph Weingarten

Joseph Weingarten

Custodian

906-487-3054
jaweinga@mtu.edu
Noblet Building 153

Mary Williams

Postdoc Research Associate

208-883-2354
miwilliams@fs.fed.us
MTU/USDA Forest Service Rocky Mtn Research Station

Research Interests

  • Restoration ecology, shrub-steppe ecosystems, inventory and monitoring, native plant propagation, rangeland health, wildlife habitat, and vegetation structure
Phyllis Williamso

Phyllis Williamson

Administrator of Services

906-487-1871
pcwillia@mtu.edu
125 Noblet Building
Elena Yordanova

Elena Yordanova

Post Doc

906-487-2759
etyordan@mtu.edu
Noblet Building 152