Faculty Recognition

Comments in Support of the Distinguished Teaching Award Finalists

 Deadline: March 30, 2013. 

Each year, Michigan Tech recognizes two educators for their outstanding contribution to the instructional mission of the University.

The first stage in this process involves the identification of the Distinguished Teaching Award finalists in the Lecturer / Professor of Practice / Assistant Professor category and the Associate Professor / Professor category. Over 51,000 Michigan Tech Student Rating of Instruction scores from the Spring and Fall 2012 semesters were used to determine the finalists.

The process for determining the Distinguished Teaching Award recipients from this list of finalists involves the additional surveying of their classes by members of Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK). In addition, the Distinguished Teaching Award Decision Committee seeks additional input from students, faculty, staff, and alumni when making the final determination of the award recipients.

The deadline for submitting the comments is March 30, 2013. The recipients of the 2013 Distinguished Teaching Award will be formally announced during the May 2013.

Your Information

* Status (please check all that apply):



Please select the finalist you would like to submit comments about and then enter the information in the corresponding comments area.

Associate Professor / Professor Category:
 Andrew Burton (Professor) – Forest Resources and Environmental Science
 Guy Hembroff (Associate Professor) – Technology
Bruce Mork (Professor) – Electrical and Computer Engineering
 Nilufer Onder (Associate Professor) – Computer Science
 Christopher Plummer (Associate Professor) – Visual and Performing Arts

Assistant Professor / Lecturer / Professor of Practice:
 Jared Anderson (Assistant Professor) – Visual and Performing Arts
 Frank Christiana (Assistant Professor) – Aerospace Studies
Karyn Fay (Professor of Practice) –Biological Sciences
 Scott Miers (Assistant Professor) – Mechanical Engineering / Engineering Mechanics
 Kazuya Tajiri (Assistant Professor) – Mechanical Engineering / Engineering Mechanics
 Thomas Werner (Assistant Professor) – Biological Sciences


Please check over the form before submitting!!