Faculty Recognition

Michigan Technological University Academy of Teaching Excellence

The Michigan Tech Academy of Teaching Excellence was established in 1998 to recognize those who have demonstrated continued dedication to and support of the University's teaching mission. Academy membership is comprised of finalists for the annual Distinguished Teaching Awards and the Fredrick D. Williams Instructional Innovation Award.

Previous year's photos: 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008

2014Theresa (Tess) AhlbornCivil and Environmental Engineering
 Jason BloughMechanical Engineering /Engineering Mechanics
 Tarun DamChemistry
 William KennedyCognitive and Learning Sciences
 Sumit PaudyalElectrical and Computer Engineering
 2013Frank ChristianaAerospace Studies
 Bruce MorkElectrical & Computer Engineering
 Nilufer OnderComputer Science
 Kazuya TajiriMechanical Engineering / Engineering Mechanics
2012Mary DurfeeSocial Sciences
 Timothy EiseleChemical Engineering
 John JaszczakPhysics
 Adrienne MinerickChemical Engineering
 Elizabeth ReedMathematical Sciences
 Valorie TroeschInstitute for Leadership and Innovation
 Thomas WernerBiological Sciences
2011Brian BarkdollCivil & Environmental Engineering
 John BeardMechanical Engineering / Engineering Mechanics
 Jeffrey BurlElectrical & Computer Engineering
 Andrew BurtonForest Resources & Environmental Science
 Stephen HackneyMaterials Science and Engineering
 Jacqueline HuntoonGeological & Mining Engineering & Science
 Philip KendallMathematical Sciences
 Scott MiersMechanical Engineering / Engineering Mechanics
 Jeffrey NaberMechanical Engineering / Engineering Mechanics
 Christopher PlummerVisual & Performing Arts
 Rupak RajacharBiomedical Engineering
 Sheryl SorbyMechanical Engineering / Engineering Mechanics
 David WanlessTechnology
 Wayne WeaverElectrical & Computer Engineering
 Roger WoodsBusiness & Economics
 Jeremy WormMechanical Engineering / Engineering Mechanics
2010Jeffrey AllenMechanical Engineering / Engineering Mechanics
 Natalia CrespoHumanities
 Megan FrostBiomedical Engineering
 Tammy Haut DonahueMechanical Engineering / Engineering Mechanics
 Yun Hang HuMaterials Science and Engineering
 Dana JohnsonBusiness & Economics
 Jason KeithChemical Engineering
 Chalres MargravesMechanical Engineering / Engineering Mechanics
 Kette ThomasHumanities
2009John LukowskiElectrical & Computer Engineering
 Michael MeyerPhysics
 Michael RoggemannElectrical & Computer Engineering
 Marika SeigelHumanities
 Aleksandr SergeyevTechnology
 Jindong TanElectrical & Computer Engineering
 Christopher WebsterForest Resources & Environmental Science
2008Mari BucheBusiness & Economics
 John DaavettilaTechnology
 Randall FreisingerHumanities
 Ryan GilbertBiomedical Engineering
 Pasi LautalaCivil & Environmental Engineering
 Linda NagelForest Resources & Environmental Science
 David OrozcoBusiness & Economics
2007Thomas DrummerMathematical Sciences
 Robert FroeseForest Resources & Environmental Science
 John GershensonMechanical Engineering / Engineering Mechanics
 James HertelEngineering Fundamentals
 Robert MarkBusiness & Economics
 Blair OrrForest Resources & Environmental Science
 Raymond ShawPhysics
 Bryan SuitsPhysics
2006Brian FickPhysics
 Guy HembroffTechnology
 Carl NesbittChemical Engineering
 Soner OnderComputer Science
 Judith PerlingerCivil & Environmental Engineering
 William RoseGeological & Mining Engineering & Science
2005Ann BradyHumanities
 Paul CharlesworthChemistry
 Tomas CoChemical Engineering
 Karyn FayBiological Sciences
 Michael MooreCollege of Engineering
 Charles NelsonHumanities
 Michael PowersTechnology
 Robert WeidmanPhysics
2004Sean ClanceyChemical Engineering
 Ann HumesTechnology
 Chandrashekhar JoshiForest Resources & Environmental Science
 Josh LoukusMechanical Engineering / Engineering Mechanics
 David PrayMathematical Sciences
 Terry ReynoldsSocial Sciences
2003Gregg BluthGeological & Mining Engineering & Science
 Paul BudaTechnology
 Will CantrellPhysics
 Brian DavisElectrical & Computer Engineering
 Douglas SwensonMaterials Science & Engineering
 Joel TuoriniemiBusiness & Economics
2002Susan Amato-HendersonEducation
 Heidi BosticHumanities
 William CookeBiomedical Engineering
 Karl RundmanMaterials Science & Engineering
 William SprouleCivil & Environmental Engineering
 Lawrence SutterTechnology
2001Lawrence EversMechanical Engineering / Engineering Mechanics
 David FlaspohlerForestry & Wood Products
 Dennis LynchHumanities
 John SandellTechnology
 Dennis WiitanenElectrical & Computer Engineering
2000Sheila GrantBiomedical Engineering
 Dean JohnsonBusiness & Economics
 Brian VanVoorstComputer Science
 Anne WysockiHumanities
 Craig FriedrichMechanical Engineering / Engineering Mechanics
 Martin JurgensenForestry & Wood Products
 O. Francis OtuonyeMining Engineering
 L. Bogue SandbergCivil & Environmental Engineering
1999Anthony FarrellTechnology
 Michael IrishFine Arts
 Kris MattilaCivil & Environmental Engineering
 David OlsonMathematical Sciences
 Gordon ParkerMechanical Engineering / Engineering Mechanics
 Suzanne StephensFine Arts
1998Duane AbataMechanical Engineering / Engineering Mechanics
 Betsy AllerChemical Engineering
 Ashok AmbardarElectrical Engineering
 C. Robert BaillodCivil & Environmental Engineering
 Mary Ann BeckwithFine Arts
 Jeffrey Bell-HansonFine Arts
 William BulleitCivil Engineering
 Peck ChoMechanical Engineering / Engineering Mechanics
 Donald DaavettilaPhysics
 Cheryl DePuydtPhysical Education
 Jimmy DiehlGeological Engineering & Sciences
 Thomas EllisChemical Engineering
 Harold EvensenMechanical Engineering / Engineering Mechanics
 Janice GlimeBiological Sciences
 William GreggGeological Engineering
 Amy HietapeltoBusiness & Economics
 Ralph HorvathElectrical Engineering
 Dennis LewandowskiMathematical Sciences
 Paul LewisElectrical Engineering
 Donna MichalekMechanical Engineering / Engineering Mechanics
 Kurtis PatersonCivil & Environmental Engineering
 Anton PintarChemical Engineering
 Mark PlichtaMetallurgical & Materials Engineering
 William PredebonMechanical Engineering / Engineering Mechanics
 Kirk SchulzChemical Engineering
 Allan StruthersMathematical Sciences
 Ghatu SubhashMechanical Engineering / Engineering Mechanics
 John SutherlandMechanical Engineering / Engineering Mechanics
 Grace SwartzChemistry
 Madhukar VableMechanical Engineering / Engineering Mechanics
 Charles VanKarsenMechanical Engineering / Engineering Mechanics
 Warren WeingartenTechnology
 Fredrick WilliamsChemistry