Faculty Directory

Laura Brown

Assistant Professor, Computer Science

906-487-3472
lebrown@mtu.edu
307 Rekhi Hall

Links of Interest

Area of Expertise

  • Algorithms for learning the structure of Bayesian networks
  • Local causal discovery methods for identification of parents and children or Markov Blankets
  • Methods for variable selection on high-dimensional data sets

Ali Ebnenasir

Associate Professor, Computer Science

Area of Expertise

  • Software Engineering
  • Automated Analysis of Fault-Tolerance
  • Formal Methods

Timothy Havens

Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Assistant Professor, Computer Science

William and Gloria Jackson Assistant Professor

906-487-3115
thavens@mtu.edu
EERC 504

Links of Interest

Areas of Interest

  • Pattern Recognition and Machine Learning
  • Signal and Image Processing
  • Sensor and Data Fusion
  • Heterogeneous Data Mining
  • Explosive Hazard Detection

Myounghoon "Philart" Jeon

Assistant Professor of Applied Cognitive Science and Human Factors Program

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Computer Science

906-487-3273
mjeon@mtu.edu
Meese Center 207

Research Interests

  • Human-Computer Interaction/ Interaction Design
  • Auditory Displays/ Sonification
  • Affective Computing/ Emotional Design
  • Automotive User Interfaces
  • Assistive Technology for Special Populations

Scott A. Kuhl

Assistant Professor, Computer Science

Adjunct Assistant Professor, Cognitive and Learning Sciences

Faculty Advisor, Husky Game Development Enterprise

Area of Expertise

  • Computer Graphics
  • Virtual Environments
  • Human Perception

John Lowther

Professor Emeritus, Computer Science

906-487-2183
john@mtu.edu
306 Rekhi Hall

Links of Interest

Area of Expertise

  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Computer Graphics

Jean Mayo

Associate Professor, Computer Science

906-487-3157
jmayo@mtu.edu
304 Rekhi Hall

Links of Interest

Area of Expertise

  • Distributed Systems
  • Operating Systems
  • Security
  • Computer Science Education

Saeid Nooshabadi

Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Professor, Computer Science

906-487-4336
saeid@mtu.edu
EERC 512, Rekhi 212

Area of Expertise (CS)

  • High-performance computer architecture
  • Embedded systems
  • Design of multimedia systems
  • High-performance and low power computing systems
  • Information-processing systems
  • Embedded electronic systems

Areas of Interest (ECE)

  • VLSI information and multimedia processing
  • SoC design
  • Complex embedded electronic systems
  • Very Large Scale Intergradations (VLSI)
  • Digital architectures
  • Computer engineering

Nilufer Onder

Associate Professor, Computer Science

906-487-1641
nilufer@mtu.edu
309 Rekhi Hall

Area of Expertise

  • Artificial Intelligence

Soner Onder

Associate Professor, Computer Science

906-487-2123
soner@mtu.edu
303 Rekhi Hall

Area of Expertise

  • Computer Architecture
  • Programming Languages

Linda Ott

Professor, Computer Science

906-487-2315
linda@mtu.edu
211 Rekhi Hall

Area of Expertise

  • Software Measurement
  • Software Processes
  • Software Engineering Education

Robert Pastel

Associate Professor, Computer Science

Adjunct Associate Professor, Cognitive and Learning Sciences

Faculty Advisor, Humane Interface Design Enterprise

906-487-1639
rpastel@mtu.edu
204 Rekhi Hall

Links of Interest

Area of Expertise

  • Human-Computer Interaction
  • Mobile Device Application Design and Evaluation
  • Usability Modeling and Evaluation
  • Usability Modeling and Evaluation
  • Computer Science Education

David Poplawski

Associate Professor, Computer Science

906-487-2331
pop@mtu.edu
208 Rekhi Hall

Area of Expertise

  • Computer Science Education
  • Computer Architecture

Steven Seidel

Professor, Computer Science

906-487-2950
steve@mtu.edu
310 Rekhi Hall

Links of Interest

Area of Expertise

  • Interprocessor Communication Algorithms
  • Massively Parallel Computers
  • Interconnection Networks

Ching-Kuang Shene

Professor, Computer Science

Area of Expertise

  • Geometric/solid Modeling
  • Computer-aided Design
  • Computer Graphics
  • Computational Geometry

Leo Ureel

Lecturer, Learning Center Coordinator

906-487-1816
ureel@mtu.edu
209 Rekhi Hall

Area of Expertise

  • Software Engineering
  • Computer Science Education
  • Intelligent Tutoring Systems

Charles Wallace

Interim Department Chair, Computer Science

Associate Professor, Computer Science

906-487-3431
wallace@mtu.edu
205 Rekhi Hall

Area of Expertise

  • Sotware Requirements
  • Human-Centered Computing
  • Communication in Software Development
  • Formal Methods
  • Software Engineering Education

Chaoli Wang

Assistant Professor, Computer Science

906-487-1643
chaoliw@mtu.edu
308 Rekhi Hall

Links of Interest

Area of Expertise

  • Scientific Visualization
  • Large-Scale Data Analysis and Visualization
  • User Interface and Interaction
  • Information Visualization
  • Visualization in Education

Zhenlin Wang

Associate Professor, Computer Science

Graduate Program Director, Computer Science

906-487-2187
zlwang@mtu.edu
207 Rekhi Hall

Links of Interest

Area of Expertise

  • Optimizing Compilers
  • High Performance Architectures
Hairong Wei
"We are doing excellent job in describing how an individual gene functions, but not how life functions. Systems biology is to fill this gap."

Hairong Wei

Assistant Professor, School of Forest Resources and Environmental Science

Department of Computer Science (Adjunct)

Department of Mathematics (Adjunct)

906-487-1473
hairong@mtu.edu
Noblet Building 176

Areas of Expertise

  • Identification of genes regulating complex traits via systems biology approaches
  • Gene expression data analysis
  • Gene network construction and decomposition
  • Developing software for mining large-scale biological data
  • Genomics of wood formation

Ann West

Assistant Director, Assurance and Community

Area of Expertise

  • Identity and Assurance
  • Federated Identity Management
  • Research and Higher Education IT Practices

Ruihong Zhang

Senior Lecturer, Computer Science

906-487-1638
ruihong@mtu.edu
302 Rekhi Hall

Links of Interest

Area of Expertise

  • Networking and Database Administration
  • Software Engineering