Faculty Directory

Spiros Bakiras

Associate Professor, Computer Science

906-487-2229
sbakiras@mtu.edu
310 Rekhi Hall

Links of Interest

Area of Expertise

  • Database Security and Privacy
  • Applied Cryptography
  • Mobile Computing

Laura E. Brown

Assistant Professor, Computer Science

Area of Expertise

  • Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning
  • Data Mining and Data Science
  • Applications of AI and ML to Energy (microgrids, power systems), Health, and other domains

Ali Ebnenasir

Associate Professor, Computer Science

Area of Expertise

  • Software Engineering
  • Automated Analysis of Fault-Tolerance
  • Formal Methods

Timothy Havens

Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Assistant Professor, Computer Science

William and Gloria Jackson Assistant Professor

906-487-3115
thavens@mtu.edu
EERC 504

Links of Interest

Areas of Interest

  • Pattern Recognition and Machine Learning
  • Signal and Image Processing
  • Sensor and Data Fusion
  • Heterogeneous Data Mining
  • Explosive Hazard Detection

Myounghoon "Philart" Jeon

Assistant Professor, Cognitive Science

Assistant Professor, Computer Science

906-487-3273
mjeon@mtu.edu
Meese Center 205, Rekhi Hall 202

Research Interests

  • Human-Computer Interaction/ Human-Robot Interaction
  • Auditory Displays/ Sonification
  • Affective Computing/ Emotional Design
  • Automotive User Interfaces
  • Assistive Technology for Special Populations
  • Aesthetic Computing/ Media Art

Scott A. Kuhl

Associate Professor, Computer Science

Adjunct Associate Professor, Cognitive and Learning Sciences

Faculty Advisor, Husky Game Development Enterprise

Area of Expertise

  • Computer Graphics
  • Virtual Environments
  • Head-mounted displays
  • Human Perception

John Lowther

Professor Emeritus, Computer Science

906-487-2183
john@mtu.edu
306 Rekhi Hall

Links of Interest

Area of Expertise

  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Computer Graphics

Jean Mayo

Associate Professor, Computer Science

906-487-3157
jmayo@mtu.edu
304 Rekhi Hall

Area of Expertise

  • Distributed Systems
  • Operating Systems
  • Security
  • Computer Science Education

Saeid Nooshabadi

Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Professor, Computer Science

906-487-4336
saeid@mtu.edu
EERC 512, Rekhi 212

Area of Expertise (CS)

  • High-performance computer architecture
  • Embedded systems
  • Design of multimedia systems
  • High-performance and low power computing systems
  • Information-processing systems
  • Embedded electronic systems

Areas of Interest (ECE)

  • VLSI information and multimedia processing
  • SoC design
  • Complex embedded electronic systems
  • Very Large Scale Intergradations (VLSI)
  • Digital architectures
  • Computer engineering

Nilufer Onder

Associate Professor, Computer Science

906-487-1641
nilufer@mtu.edu
309 Rekhi Hall

Area of Expertise

  • Artificial Intelligence

Soner Onder

Professor, Computer Science

Adjunct Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

906-487-2123
soner@mtu.edu
303 Rekhi Hall

Area of Expertise

  • Computer Architecture
  • Programming Languages

Linda Ott

Professor, Computer Science

Associate Dean for Special Initiatives (College of Sciences and Arts)

Area of Expertise

  • Software Measurement
  • Software Processes
  • Software Engineering Education
  • Women in Computing
  • Retention in Undergraduate CS Education

Robert Pastel

Associate Professor, Computer Science

Adjunct Associate Professor, Cognitive and Learning Sciences

Faculty Advisor, Humane Interface Design Enterprise

906-487-1639
rpastel@mtu.edu
204 Rekhi Hall

Links of Interest

Area of Expertise

  • Mobile App Design and Usability
  • Software Development and Processes
  • Computer Science Education

David Poplawski

Associate Professor, Computer Science

906-487-2331
pop@mtu.edu
208 Rekhi Hall

Area of Expertise

  • Computer Science Education
  • Computer Architecture

Ching-Kuang Shene

Professor, Computer Science

Area of Expertise

  • Geometric/solid Modeling
  • Computer-aided Design
  • Computer Graphics
  • Computational Geometry

Min Song

Department Chair, Computer Science

Professor, Computer Science

Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

906-487-2602
mins@mtu.edu
223 Rekhi Hall

Links of Interest

Areas of Expertise

  • Wireless Networking
  • Sensor Networks
  • Network Security
  • Cyber Physical Systems
  • Mobile Computing

Kim Tracy

Lecturer, Computer Science

906-487-3149
kwtracy@mtu.edu
301 Rekhi Hall

Area of Expertise

  • Computer Security
  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Data Systems

Leo Ureel

Lecturer, Computer Science

Computer Science Learning Center Coordinator

906-487-1816
ureel@mtu.edu
209 Rekhi Hall

Area of Expertise

  • Software Engineering
  • Computer Science Education
  • Intelligent Tutoring Systems

Keith Vertanen

Assistant Professor, Computer Science

906-487-2209
vertanen@mtu.edu
203 Rekhi Hall

Area of Expertise

  • Human-Computer Interaction (HCI)
  • Speech and Language Processing
  • Mobile Interfaces
  • Crowdsourcing

Charles Wallace

Associate Professor, Computer Science

Undergraduate Program Director, Computer Science

906-487-3431
wallace@mtu.edu
205 Rekhi Hall

Area of Expertise

  • Sotware Requirements
  • Human-Centered Computing
  • Communication in Software Development
  • Formal Methods
  • Software Engineering Education

Zhenlin Wang

Professor, Computer Science

Graduate Program Director, Computer Science

906-487-2187
zlwang@mtu.edu
207 Rekhi Hall

Links of Interest

Area of Expertise

  • Optimizing Compilers
  • High Performance Architectures

Ruihong Zhang

Senior Lecturer, Computer Science

906-487-1638
ruihong@mtu.edu
302 Rekhi Hall

Links of Interest

Area of Expertise

  • Networking and Database Administration
  • Software Engineering