Faculty and Staff Directory

Christine M. Abramson

Christine M. Abramson

Department Coordinator

906-487-3132
cmabrams@mtu.edu
Chem Sci 203A

Maureen Anton

Administrative Aide

906-487-3132
maanton@mtu.edu
202Q Chem Sci

Bruce A Barna

Professor Emeritus, Chemical Engineering

906-487-2569
bbarna@mtu.edu
Chem Sci 202L

Research Interests

  • Conceptual process design
  • Process optimization
  • Venture analysis

Gerard T. Caneba

Professor, Chemical Engineering

Adjunct Professor, Materials Science and Engineering

906-487-2051
caneba@mtu.edu
Chem Sci 304B

Research Interests

  • Controlled chain polymerizations
  • Radiation-Initiated FRRPP
  • Thermoreversible Nanobiomaterials
  • Sustainability polymer materials/systems
  • Enhanced oil recovery and cleanup operations
  • Mathematical modeling/computer simulation of dynamic systems
  • Carbon Nanotube/polymer composites
David W. Caspary

David W. Caspary

Manager Lab Facilities

906-487-2022
dcaspary@mtu.edu
Chem Sci B004

Sean Clancey

Lecturer, Chemical Engineering

Faculty Co-Advisor, Consumer Product Manufacturing Enterprise

906-487-3338
msclance@mtu.edu
Chem Sci 202E

Links of Interest

Teaching Interests

  • Technical communication
  • Program assessment, including means of incorporating assessment of writing and speaking in engineering curricula

Tomas B. Co

Associate Professor, Chemical Engineering

906-487-2144
tbco@mtu.edu
Chem Sci 202G

Research Interests

  • Process Integrity
  • Process Modeling
  • Plant-Wide Control

Daniel A. Crowl

Professor, Chemical Engineering

906-487-3221
crowl@mtu.edu
Chem Sci 202B

Research Interests

  • Chemical process safety
  • Loss prevention

Timothy C. Eisele

Assistant Professor, Chemical Engineering

906-487-2017
tceisele@mtu.edu
202K Chemical Sciences Building

Research Interests

  • Particulate processing
  • Chemistry and thermodynamics of metals extraction; physical separation processes,
  • Sustainable raw materials production

Edward R. Fisher

Professor Emeritus, Chemical Engineering

Cell: 906-487-3057
edfisher@mtu.edu

Research Interests

  • Plasma Chemistry
  • Excited State Chemistry
Timothy P. Gasperich

Timothy P. Gasperich

Research Associate

906-487-2841
tpgasper@mtu.edu
Chem Sci B004

Caryn Heldt

Assistant Professor, Chemical Engineering

906-487-1134
heldt@mtu.edu
Chem Sci 202J

Links of Interest

Research Interests

  • Bioseparations
  • Virus removal and detection
  • Biosensors

S. Komar Kawatra

Department Chair, Chemical Engineering

Professor, Chemical Engineering

906-487-2064
skkawatr@mtu.edu
Chem Sci 301A

Links of Interest

Research Interests

  • Iron and Steel Making
  • Particle Technology

Nam K. Kim

Professor Emeritus, Chemical Engineering

906-487-2298
kimnk@mtu.edu

Research Interests

  • Process Control
  • Energy Conservation

Julia A. King

Professor, Chemical Engineering

jaking@mtu.edu
Chem Sci 307B

Research Interests

  • Thermally and electrically conductive resins/composites

Wenzhen Li

Associate Professor, Chemical Engineering

Faculty Advisor, Alternative Fuels Group Enterprise

906-487-2298
wzli@mtu.edu
Chem Sci 310A

Research Interests

  • Electrocatalysis
  • Electrochemical Energy
  • Fuel Cells
  • Nanomaterials
  • Electrofuels
  • Electrobiofuels

Adrienne Minerick

Associate Professor, Chemical Engineering

Adjunct Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering

906-487-2796
minerick@mtu.edu
Chem Sci 202H

Research Interests

  • Microdevices
  • Medical diagnostics
  • Nonlinear electrophoresis

Faith A. Morrison

Professor, Chemical Engineering

906-487-2050
fmorriso@mtu.edu
Chem Sci 304A

Research Interests

  • Rheology
  • Fluid Mechanics
  • Better Educational Materials
  • Hydrogels
  • Filled Polymers

Michael E. Mullins

Professor, Chemical Engineering

Research Interests

  • Environmental kinetics and thermodynamics
  • Engineered nanostructures

Sue Niemi

Staff Assistant

906-487-3132
seniemi@mtu.edu
203 Chem Sci
Jerry A. Norkol

Jerry A. Norkol

Master Machinist

906-487-2004
jnorkol@mtu.edu
Chem Sci B012

Ching-An Peng

Professor, Chemical Engineering

James and Lorna Mack Endowed Chair in Bioengineering

Graduate Student Advisor, Chemical Engineering

906-487-2569
cpeng@mtu.edu
Chem Sci 202L

Research Interests

  • Drug/Gene Delivery
  • Nano/Bio Technology
  • Cellular/Tissue Engineering

Anton J. Pintar

Professor Emeritus, Chemical Engineering

906-487-2023
ajpintar@mtu.edu

Research Interests

  • Plant safety
  • Physical property estimation techniques

Tony N. Rogers

Associate Professor, Chemical Engineering

Co-Advisor, Consumer Product Manufacturing Enterprise

906-487-2210
Cell: 906-231-3328
tnrogers@mtu.edu
Chem-Sci 305C

Research Interests

  • Process simulation and improvement
  • Physical property prediction and measurement
  • Electrical energy storage

John Sandell

Associate Professor, Chemical Engineering

906-487-2557
jfsandel@mtu.edu
Chem Sci 202C

Research Interests

  • Fire protection and environmental engineering

David R. Shonnard

Professor, Chemical Engineering

Richard and Bonnie Robbins Chair in Sustainable Materials

906-487-3468
drshonna@mtu.edu
Chem Sci 202I

Links of Interest

Research Interests

  • Bioprocess engineering
  • Alternative energy
  • Sustainability

Katie Torrey

Academic Advisor, Chemical Engineering

Instructor, Chemical Engineering

906-487-4327
kt@mtu.edu
Chem Sci 202M
David A. Zei

David A. Zei

Technical Staff Assistant

906-487-3132
zei@mtu.edu
Chem Sci 203A

Wen Zhou

Assistant Professor, Chemical Engineering

906-487-1164
wzhou1@mtu.edu
Chem Sci 202F

Research Interests

  • Systems Engineering and Biology
  • Biofuel production
  • Bioinformatics