Administration

Administration

Dean Johnson

Interim Dean, School of Business and Economics

James and Dolores Trethewey Professor, School of Business and Economics

Director of Applied Portfolio Management Program

906-487-2668
dean@mtu.edu
103 Academic Office Building

Teaching Interests

  • Applied Portfolio Management
  • Investments
  • Derivative Securities

Research Interests

  • Asset Pricing
  • Portfolio Management

Thomas E Merz

Associate Dean, School of Business and Economics

Professor of Economics, School of Business and Economics

906-487-2805
temerz@mtu.edu
105 Academic Office Building

Teaching Interests

  • Game theory
  • Public sector economics
  • Microeconomic theory

Research Interests

  • Game theory
  • Public sector economics
  • Microeconomic theory
Diane Benda

Diane Benda

Director of Administration

906-487-2964
dmbenda@mtu.edu
102 Academic Office Building

Specialties

  • Executive assistant to the dean
  • Responsible for facilitating School of Business and Economics activities
  • Coordinate and oversee faculty and staff searches, reappointments, and promotion and tenure processes
  • Dean's Advisory Council liaison

Jodie Filpus-Paakola

Coordinator of Academic Services

906-487-3597
jrfilpus@mtu.edu
109 Academic Office Building

Specialties

  • Undergraduate academic advising
  • Coordinator for Undergraduate Communications
  • Supports student internships and job placement

Sara Pingel

Outreach Manager

906-487-3501
sepingel@mtu.edu
108 Academic Office Building

Specialties

  • Builds relationships with prospective students and their families and assists with the college selection and admissions process
  • Presents to high school and community college classes about the School of Business and Economics
  • Coordinates School of Business and Economics social media accounts
  • Manages team of student ambassadors

Rebecca Middlebrook

Tech MBA® Program Manager

906-487-3055
ramiddle@mtu.edu
107 Academic Office Building

Specialties

  • Educates people about the benefits, options and opportunities of the Tech MBA program
  • Helps guide students through the selection and admission process for the MBA program
Karen Foltz staff photo

Karen Foltz

Staff Assistant

906-487-2668
ksfoltz@mtu.edu
100 Academic Office Building